Because I Say So











{March 4, 2013}   Thing 9: Databases and Search Tools

The many search engines and databases available to students can be overwhelming.  SweetSearch and SweetSearch4Me look like a great place to direct students to quality websites when beginning their research. I will definitely be adding this to my tool bar!

Along the same lines, my students and I recently had the chance to work with RIT’s new search tool, Summon.  Not only does it have a great name, it allows you to search the multiple databases simultaneously.  Books, databases, journals, articles, and even content beyond RIT’s collection can be found through Summon’s single search box.  Although I have links to all the databases available to my students on my library’s home page, they still have to decide which database might have the information they’re looking for.  Being able to search multiple resources at once would be extremely helpful.  Hopefully, search tools like Summon will become available to more of us.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
