Because I Say So











{May 17, 2017}   Thing 37: Social Reading & Book Stuff

I decided to revisit Goodreads for Thing 37.  I am a fan of LibraryThing, but I do have a Goodreads account (I miss Shelfari) and am very aware of its popularity.  I just love admiring my collection on LibraryThing…

Goodreads is definitely more social.  There are so many ways to engage with a community of book lovers with similar interests.  You can read reviews and join discussions of course, but you can also see recommendations and find new books to read based on books you’ve enjoyed.  I’ll have to remember to use Goodreads to help with book recommendations for my students, and for my collection development.  What piqued my interest this time visiting Goodreads, though, was the book challenges.

The Goodreads Challenge Tracker allows you to set a goal for the number of books you want to read each year.  To help you keep pace, you will see a challenge tracker at the bottom of your screen letting you know how many books you’ve read, how close you are to your goal, and whether or not you’re on track to meeting your goal.  Wow!  This sounds like it could be both stressful and fulfilling!

I have no idea how I’m going to come up with the number of books I want to set as my goal, but this is a challenge I’m up for, and I can’t wait to start encouraging my students to join too!

 

 

I love goodreads for the reviews and recommendations. I join reading challenges, rarely complete them though, I just keep setting things aside for retirement!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
